Stern Gland Problems

Moderator: philipstevens

Stern Gland Problems

Postby Bob Hine » Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:48 am

Model: Seahawk 34 (1985/6)
Problem: Sea water leaking into engine bilge whilst motoring.

Whilst I have always had some leakage into the engine bilge this has increased recently to become concerning. I have regularly pumped grease into the stuffing tube both before and after a trip but this now seems to be ineffective. The stuffing tube has never been changed (22 years now) and does feel quite soft and spongy. I could just change the rope inside but feel that this would probably only delay the inevitable.

Questions.
1. Is the stuffing tube likely to be the main cause?
2. Is this a Volvo part or a Westerly part and where can I get one?
3. How easy is it to change?

Can anyone out there advise please.
Bob Hine

Postby ex-Stormy Monday » Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:15 pm

Not sure why you feel that you need to change the entire unit and I'm no expert on the subject because I have a Volvo shaft seal rather than the traditional stuffing box. However, there is a lot of knowledge on the subject on the Westerly Owners' email discussion group, including recommendations as to how to change the stuffing as well as replacing associated rubber hose if required.
If you are already a member of the group, clicking on the link below should take you straight to the results of a search on the subject. If you're not yet a member, it will probably take you to a sign-up page.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Westerly- ... ndows-1252
ex-Stormy Monday

Postby cpedw » Thu Jun 14, 2007 9:46 am

Bob,
After 22 years I expect the stern gland probably needs re-packing. I think that would be a fairly straightforward process, though much easier done when ashore. If nothing is significantly damaged, it should give another 20 years service using the occasional squirt of grease.